My Shepherd

When I was twelve years old I realized that I had a friend whose name was Jesus. He was a true friend since the “friends” I had at school ridiculed me and made fun of me and made my life miserable. I found Jesus right when I needed him. Right at my heart wanting to come in.
It all started while I was growing up. I would go to church and to Vacation Bible School. I loved this, because I learned of who Jesus was and how He would help me. I remember coming home from school and crying. Mom asked what the matter was and I told her no one would play with me on the play ground. She told me to make Jesus my friend. He would play with me and never leave me. To this day, he is still with me and loves me with that ever lasting love.
By the time I reached twelve years old, I knew I was ready to be baptized. The preacher that led me to the Lord, passed away so I never was baptized and it felt like a door closed in my heart. I still loved Jesus and who he was, but I felt like I could not go through with baptism until I found the church to do it.
High school came and went. I was a senior in high school and I had an encounter with a church that did not profess what I believed. However, they made me feel welcome and invited me to church. So as graduation and prom came and went I was baptized into this church. I am not going to disclose the name because that is not the reason for this blog today.
I felt like God told me I had made a dreaded mistake and I felt like he took my appetite away. This concerned my parents and we called a church whose pastor would have been able to talk to me. He told us the church was a cult and that I needed to get out of it. He also said we did not need to go to his church, but to find something that taught Jesus. That next Sunday we were there at the church where Jesus was being taught.
The good news is that by September of 1989 I was baptized. This was a wonderful feeling to know that I was a child of the King.

How about you? When did you realize that Jesus was your shepherd?

For an audience of One.

3 thoughts on “My Shepherd

  1. Thank you so much for this blessed message and is strengthening me. Evangelist Babu.

    On Tue, Jul 16, 2013 at 5:30 AM, jeaniekelley5

  2. I was just reading in Romans about “watching out for those who do not preach the true gospel”. A life lesson learned. We need to hold everything up to the teachings in the Bible to verify what is true and what is not.

    Wonderful blog Jeannie.
    Loved the singing.

    Blessings,
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

