Friendship God’s Way

What I would love to see is the church to welcome sinners into the church. Welcome them in a way to truly get to know them personally. While I was growing up, I did not have many friends or just one special friend. If I had walked into a church, I would have gotten scowling looks from people who thought I should not be there.
Now, they are sinners just like me. I guess they felt that they needed to continue to put someone down because I did not dress like them or act like them.
I found out this last week from my mom that I am not showy, I am me. If people could not take me for being me, I will go on my merry way. When she said that, I knew where I needed to be and what I needed to do. To be me. To not have to dress up and appear to be something I am not.
In the end, the church welcomes people who are sinners into the congregation. As in 1 John 4:7-8 says, Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves, has been born of God. Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. So this is truly telling me that we need to be born of God. To love because he first loved us. What does this look like?
To some, helping with repairs around the house. Running errands, cleaning or watching the kids. This is all excellent things to tell a person they are loved. Also another way, is inviting someone out to coffee or lunch. Just to chat and to catch up on daily lives. I, however, still find it difficult to call someone and ask if they would like to go and get a cup of coffee.
In the long run, just seeing the church do these things would be awesome to see.

I have made an acronym for the word friendship:

Fully
Relying
Into
Eternal
Neverending
Deity
SHowing
Hospitality
Is
Priceless

So can I ask you personally. Are you sharing your friendships with someone who does not know Jesus or are you inviting them church to find out who Jesus is and how he can be a good friend to them? Then to be a witness to them?

Everyone needs Christ in their life.

For an audience of One. Blessings and Keep Smiling.

4 thoughts on “Friendship God’s Way

  1. Jeanie- I am blessed by your friendship. Wasn’t cool that we sang, “I am a friend of God” in church today! I look forward to sharing your post with more friends later this week. I love the acronym! Such a fun way to share our thoughts. Thank you for challenging me to be a better friend and especially to consider inviting others into a friendship relationship with Jesus. Blessings to you this week and much peace. Kel

  2. Dear sister Jean, Thank you so much for this spiritfilled messages to study and to meditate and to reach for others in India, i am Teaching to our Congregations and outreaches here, please share more regularly. Have you been to India to preach? please pray for us, we have much idolatry here and we want to win more souls. Please greet all the saints with you and ask them to pray for India. in Jesus Love, Evangelist Babu.

    On Sun, Jun 9, 2013 at 4:45 PM, jeaniekelley5

Leave a Reply

